Uitgeverij Van Oorschot is The Netherlands’ oldest surviving independent publishing house. Founded by the legendary publisher G.A. van Oorschot in 1945, it has since published many of the most renowned and respected Dutch literary authors, such as A. Alberts, W.F. Hermans, Rutger Kopland, Gerard Reve, M. Vasalis and J.J. Voskuil. Van Oorschot is considered to be one of the most prestigious literary publishers in The Netherlands and Flanders.

Van Oorschot Publishers is widely known for the Russian Library series (De Russische Bibliotheek), a household name in the Netherlands. It is a near-to-complete collection of the Russian classics, from Pushkin to Chekhov and Isaac Babel. Recent additions include Daniil Charms, Boris Pasternak and Andrej Platonov.

In recent years, we’ve published a new generation of talented Dutch writers, such as Maria Barnas, Martin Michael Driessen, Stephan Enter, Otto de Kat, Sander Kollaard, Nicolien Mizee, Ester Naomi Perquin, Jannie Regnerus, Marijke Schermer and Miek Zwamborn, who were all published to great acclaim.

Van Oorschot has published eminent translations of classic authors, including works by Anthony Burgess, Raymond Carver, Emily Dickinson, Josephine Johnson, Luigi Pirandello, Nicola Pugliese and John Steinbeck. We have also recently opened our doors to modern translated fiction and non-fiction, acquiring titles by authors such as Andrea Abreu, Andrea Bajani, Doireann Ní Ghriofa, Maxim Osipov, Sophie Pinkham and Oksana Vasyakina.

Most of our translation rights are represented by Cossee Literary Agency. For more information, please contact Stella Rieck via rieck@cossee.com

Translation rights of work by Martin Michael Driessen are handled by The Susijn Agency.

Translation rights of work by Otto de Kat are handled by Liepman Agency.

For inquiries regarding foreign rights, please contact Frederike Doppenberg.